Legislature honors Iowa head football coach Kirk Ferentz

The University of Iowa fooball team takes the field against Indiana on October 31, 2009. The Hawks finished the season with an impressive 11 wins.

On March 11, The Senate and House of Representatives congratulated University of Iowa football coach Kirk Ferentz by passing resolutions to honor the coach and his team. Ferentz was in the chamber to witness the passage of the resolution, and he received a standing ovation before thanking the Legislature for their support.

The nationally ranked Hawkeyes won 11 games in 2009, wrapping up an exciting season with a 24-14 victory over Georgia Tech in the Orange Bowl.

The full text of Senate Resolution 108 is below, followed by photos of Coach Ferentz at the Capitol.

Senate Resolution 108 reads:

A Resolution to celebrate the highlights for the 2009 football season of the University of Iowa football team.

WHEREAS, the 2009 University of Iowa football team will be remembered as one of the most entertaining, talented, and successful teams in Hawkeye history; and

WHEREAS, the 11 wins equals the program’s 2002 record for victories in a season; and

WHEREAS, the regular season win total of 10 was achieved for only the fourth time; “and WHEREAS, for the first time ever, the Hawkeyes won the first nine games of a season; and

WHEREAS, Iowa played in a January bowl game for the sixth time in eight years; and

WHEREAS, Iowa won a Bowl Championship Series-caliber bowl game for the first time since 1959 in beating Georgia Tech in the 2010 FedEx Orange Bowl 24-14; and

WHEREAS, the Hawkeyes finished the 2009 season with an 11-2 overall record and a 6-2 Big Ten mark, finishing in a second place tie; and

WHEREAS, the Hawkeyes have won at least nine games for the fifth time in the last eight years and for the seventh time in school history have won 10 games or more; and

WHEREAS, the Hawkeyes were ranked seventh in both major polls at the conclusion of the season, the highest final ranking for the program since 1960; and

WHEREAS, defensive end Adrian Clayborn was named Most Valuable Player of the FedEx Orange Bowl; and

WHEREAS, Coach Kirk Ferentz was named Big Ten Coach of the Year for the third time; and

WHEREAS, offensive tackle Bryan Bulaga was picked as the Big Ten’s Offensive Lineman of the Year; and

WHEREAS, All-Big Ten first teamers included Bryan Bulaga (OL), Dace Richardson (OL), Tony Moeaki (TE), Adrian Clayborn (DE), Pat Angerer (LB), Tyler Sash (DB), and Amari Spievey (DB), and five additional Hawkeyes were named to the league’s second unit; and

WHEREAS, Bryan Bulaga and Pat Angerer were named first-team all-Americans, Tyler Sash was a second team choice, and Adrian Clayborn made the third team; and

WHEREAS, the Iowa Hawkeyes have earned 70 wins since the start of the 2002 season, which places them at a tie for the 16th highest total in Division I football; and

WHEREAS, Iowa’s football record in the 2000 decade was 80-45 (.640), a record that ranks as the best decade in Iowa football history, based on total wins;


That the Senate congratulates the University of Iowa football team for a stellar season and looks forward to a great season in 2010.


100309_kirk_ferentz (93)
Senator Pam Jochum and her clerk listen as Kirk Ferentz addresses the Senate.


Pictured from left to right:

Pictured from left to right: Senator Tom Reilly of Oskaloosa, Kirk Ferentz, Senate President Jack Kibbie of Emmetsburg, Senator Bob Dvorsky of Coralville, and Senator Joe Bolkcom of Iowa City.


Kirk Ferentz poses with University of Iowa graduates, Senate clerks, and Hawkeye fans Susan Elgin (left) and Mary Shields.

Kirk Ferentz poses with University of Iowa graduates, Senate clerks, and Hawkeye fans Susan Elgin (left) and Mary Shields (right).


Posted Mar. 11th, 2010 at 3:34 pm by
Tags: , , , , , ,