About Senator Dvorsky

Bob Dvorsky was elected in 2014 to his seventh term in the Iowa Senate. He represents Cedar County and northeast Johnson County. He previously served seven years as a State Representative in the Iowa House. 

Senator Dvorsky is chair of the Appropriations Committee and vice-chair of the Transportation Committee. He also serves on the Education, Rules & Administration, State Government and Health & Human Services Budget committees.

In 2007, Bob was awarded the Arthur Neu Award for Exceptional Policy Development by the American Parole & Probation Association. He has been instrumental in seeing that adequate appropriations for the Justice System are a part of the state budget.

He spearheaded the effort that resulted in funding for the Special Needs Unit at Oakdale, as well as the first CBC Mental Health Rehabilitation Facility in Cedar Rapids. Senator Dvorsky has promoted the need to fully fund salary/staffing for Corrections programs and facilities. His efforts to make Iowa a stronger and safer place to work and live have been praised by wardens, CBC directors and union staff.

Bob served on the Coralville City Council for seven years, and currently is president of the board of directors for the Housing Trust Fund of Johnson County.

Born in Burlington in 1948, Bob graduated from Iowa City’s University High School and earned his Bachelors of Science and Master of Public Administration degrees from the University of Iowa. He is retired from the 6th Judicial District Department of Correctional Services, where he worked as an executive officer.

Bob lives in Coralville with Sue Dvorsky. They have two daughters, Ann and Caroline.