Democrats release committee assignments for 2017 session

Iowa Senate News Release
For immediate release: December 9, 2016


(Des Moines) Senate Democratic Leader Rob Hogg has released the committee assignments for the Democratic members of the Iowa Senate for the 201­7 session of the Iowa Legislature.


“A lot of groundwork is done during committee meetings, where there are opportunities for open discussion and bipartisan work,” Hogg said.  “I’m disappointed Senate Republicans have eliminated the Economic Growth Committee, but we will look for ways to stand up for good jobs, good benefits and strong community schools across the state.”


The two-year 87th General Assembly will begin on Monday, January 9, 2017.


The committee list is below, is attached, and  can also be found at:



Senate Democrats Committee Assignments:
87th General Assembly



Agriculture Committee


Appropriations Committee


Commerce Committee


Education Committee


Ethics Committee


Government Oversight Committee


Human Resources Committee


Judiciary Committee


Labor and Business Relations Committee


Local Government Committee


Natural Resources Committee


Rules and Administration Committee


State Government Committee


Transportation Committee


Veterans Committee


Ways and Means Committee


Administration and Regulation Appropriations Subcommittee


Agriculture and Natural Resources Appropriations Subcommittee

Economic Development Appropriations Subcommittee


Education Appropriations Subcommittee


Health and Human Services Appropriations Subcommittee


Justice System Appropriations Subcommittee


Transportation and Infrastructure Appropriations Subcommittee


Administrative Rules Review Committee