Senate Staff

Who are we?
The Iowa Senate Democratic Staff supports the work of the Democratic members of the Iowa Senate. We are a team of professionals who research various policy areas in support of the goals and interests of our Senators; communicate their message to constituents and the media; and offer administrative support.

General Contact – (515) 281-5804

Staff Member

Committee Assignments
Ron Parker
Staff director
(515) 281-8790
ron.parker@legis.iowa.gov
Eric Bakker
Assistant to the Democratic Leader
(515) 281-3902
eric.bakker@legis.iowa.gov
  • Ethics
  • Rules & Administration
  • Transportation
  • Kris Bell
    Research Analyst
    (515) 242-5896
    kris.bell@legis.iowa.gov
  • Human Resources
  • Health & Human Services Appropriations
  • Cathy Engel
    Research Analyst
    (515) 281-8688
    cathy.engel@legis.iowa.gov
  • Judiciary
  • Justice & Judicial Appropriations
  • Administrative Rules
  • Sue Foecke
    Research Analyst
    (515) 281-8679
    sue.foecke @legis.iowa.gov
  • Labor & Business Relations
  • Appropriations
  • Economic Development Budget
  • Bridget Godes
    Research Analyst
    (515) 281-3433
    bridget.godes@legis.iowa.gov
  • Education
  • Government Oversight
  • State Government
  • Education Appropriations
  • Debbie Kattenhorn
    Assistant to the Democratic Leader
    (515) 281-4610
    debbie.kattenhorn@legis.iowa.gov
    Rusty Martin
    Communications Director
    (515) 281-5269
    rusty.martin@legis.iowa.gov
    Jace Mikels
    Research Analyst
    (515) 281-5072
    jace.mikels@legis.iowa.gov
  • Natural Resources & Environment
  • Ways & Means
  • Kerry Scott
    Research Analyst
    (515) 281-7347
    kerry.scott @legis.iowa.gov
  • Agriculture
  • Local Government
  • Administration & Regulation Appropriations
  • Erica Shorkey
    Deputy Communications Director
    (515) 281-8731
    erica.shorkey@legis.iowa.gov
    Julie Simon
    Research Analyst
    (515) 281-5264
    julie.simon @legis.iowa.gov
  • Commerce
  • Veterans Affairs
  • Transportation Infrastructure Budget