Legislative leaders to decide on medical cannabis special committee

For Immediate Release: July 9, 2019

Special committee would provide path for bipartisan agreement on medical cannabis

Decision to be made by legislative leaders this Thursday, July 11, at Iowa Statehouse

This Thursday, the leaders of the Iowa Legislature will be asked to create an interim committee to hammer out reforms of Iowa’s “worst in the nation” medical cannabis program.  

After several years without progress, a comprehensive bill was approved with overwhelming bipartisan support during the 2019 session.  A month later, Governor Reynolds vetoed the bill. An effort to override that veto fell short last month.

A study committee on medical cannabis reform offers the surest chance of success because it would allow input from advocates, medical experts and other interested Iowans, according to Sen. Joe Bolkcom of Iowa City and Rep. John Forbes of Urbandale.

“Year after year, Iowa families have traveled to the Statehouse pleading for help,” Bolkcom said.  “After listening to Iowans, we should hammer out a fix that is ready to go the day the 2020 session begins in January.” 

“All we need to do is focus on helping suffering families.  That’s it,” said Representative John Forbes, an Urbandale pharmacist.  “We don’t need to reinvent the wheel. All Iowa has to do is approve what’s working in other states and get the heck out of the way.”

The Legislative Council’s Studies Committee is scheduled to meet at 11:15 a.m. Thursday, July 11, 2019, in Room 22 of the Iowa State Capitol.


Interim committee request letter_FINAL

Contact the legislative council and encourage them to support an interim committee: http://bit.ly/Iowa-Leg-Council-7-2019

Breckenridge, Wes [LEGIS] <Wes.Breckenridge@legis.iowa.gov>; Deyoe, Dave [LEGIS] <Dave.Deyoe@legis.iowa.gov>; Grassley, Pat [LEGIS] <Pat.Grassley@legis.iowa.gov>; Hagenow, Chris [LEGIS] <Chris.Hagenow@legis.iowa.gov>; Hall, Chris [LEGIS] <Chris.Hall@legis.iowa.gov>; Hein, Lee [LEGIS] <Lee.Hein@legis.iowa.gov>; Oldson, Jo [LEGIS] <Jo.Oldson@legis.iowa.gov>; Prichard, Todd [LEGIS] <Todd.Prichard@legis.iowa.gov>; Steckman, Sharon [LEGIS] <Sharon.Steckman@legis.iowa.gov>; Upmeyer, Linda [LEGIS] <Linda.Upmeyer@legis.iowa.gov>; Wills, John [LEGIS] <John.Wills@legis.iowa.gov>; Windschitl, Matt [LEGIS] <Matt.Windschitl@legis.iowa.gov>; Behn, Jerry [LEGIS] <Jerry.Behn@legis.iowa.gov>; Bolkcom, Joe [LEGIS] <Joe.Bolkcom@legis.iowa.gov>; Chapman, Jake [LEGIS] <Jake.Chapman@legis.iowa.gov>; Feenstra, Randy [LEGIS] <Randy.Feenstra@legis.iowa.gov>; Jochum, Pam [LEGIS] <Pam.Jochum@legis.iowa.gov>; Lykam, Jim [LEGIS] <Jim.Lykam@legis.iowa.gov>; Petersen, Janet [LEGIS] <Janet.Petersen@legis.iowa.gov>; Ragan, Amanda [LEGIS] <Amanda.Ragan@legis.iowa.gov>; Schneider, Charles [LEGIS] <Charles.Schneider@legis.iowa.gov>; Sinclair, Amy [LEGIS] <Amy.Sinclair@legis.iowa.gov>; Whitver, Jack [LEGIS] <Jack.Whitver@legis.iowa.gov>; Zumbach, Dan [LEGIS] <Dan.Zumbach@legis.iowa.gov>